Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join
Certified Horticulturist
Share |

The American Society for Horticultural Science Certified Horticulturist (ASHS-CH) professional certification program is the national credential validating the knowledge and skills of working horticultural practitioners in the industry of horticulture.

United States


Arizona

Edward Tashian, CH

Phoenix, Arizona

eltashian18@gmail.com


California

Ralph Crevoshay, CH
San Diego, California
ralph@agsustain.com

________

Bridey Denniger, CH
Lakewood, California
brideyr@aol.com

________

James Jones, CH
Atwater, California
jmatthewjones9@gmail.com

________

Stephen Schwager, CH
Mill Valley, California
stevenschwager@gmail.com

________

Jonathan Sinclair, PhD, CH
Hollister, California
jonathan.sinclair@rocketmail.com

"I graduated with a PhD from Texas A&M University in 2003 and have built on the training I received there ever since in my professional career as a plant breeder. Completing the Certified Horticulture certification has been a good way to maintain a high-quality knowledge base in various other areas of Horticulture as well."

 

 


Colorado

Sean Band

Golden, Colorado
band.sean@gmail.com

________

Catherine DeFotis, CH
Englewood, CO
katydefotis@yahoo.com


Delaware

Joseph Egolf, CH
6692A Lancaster Pike
Hockessin, DE 19707


District of Columbia

Gabriel Bandele, CH 
PO Box 21540 
Washington, DC 20009
301-779-7530
bandele@erols.com


"We are nature (not just a part of it). As horticulturists, we co-create with the plants we work with. We can become stewards of the earth and by assisting others in heightening their awareness and appreciation of our plant/natural environment we can also become part of the much needed solution."


Florida

Edward Schneider, CH 
Orange Park, Florida
edwardjschneider@yahoo.com
________

Arielle Simon, CH 
Key Biscayne, Florida
simon.arielle@gmail.com
________

Stacy Smith, CH 
Lakeland, Florida
stacy.smith@lakelandgov.net


Georgia

Peter Calabrese, CH 
931 Monroe Drive NE Ste A102-257

Atlanta, Georgia  30308
peter@indygosun.com


Illinois

Nathan Bair, CH
Normal, IL
nbair@normal.org

________

Charlotte Blome, CH
Crystal Lake IL
charlotteblome@gmail.com

________

Kevin Donnelly, CH 
223 E. Forest Knoll Drive 
Palatine, IL 60074
630-365-1990
edtamias@yahoo.com


As Quality Control supervisor at Midwest Trading Horticultural Supplies, Inc., he oversees testing and research on horticultural soils for the greenhouse, nursery, landscape, and green roof market. In addition, Donnelly gives educational tours of the facility to customers, students, industry groups and the occasional foreign dignitary.

________

Breanne Heath
Growing Home, Inc.
Wood Street Urban Farm
5814 S. Wood St.
Chicago, IL 60636
bheath@growinghomeinc.org
773-434-7144

Breanne has a bachelor's degree in biology and works as a field training specialist at a certified organic farm on the south side of Chicago. There, she teaches people with barriers to employment in agricultural and horticultural techniques, while managing the grounds and a production plot for a family shelter, soup kitchen and food pantry. Breanne also teaches community workshops in growing and food preservation while maintaining her own rooftop farm and chickens in the city.

________

Stephanie Stacy, CH
815-530-9577
plantit2@yahoo.com

Stephanie has been in the industry since 1998, starting at a small, family garden center and growing to owning Garden's Gate Garden Center and Landscaping in Ottawa, IL, along with her husband, Dave. In addition, Stephanie teaches classes at Illinois Valley Community College and offers hands-on seminars to adults and children at her garden center.

________

David Pilkington, CH
Chicago, Illinois
patsdave@gmail.com

 


Iowa

Barbara L. Fuelberth, CH
1607 280th Avenue
Spirit Lake, IA 51360
W 712-336-2085; F 712-336-8118
barbf.fergusons@mchsi.com

She received her Master Gardener training and began working at Ferguson's Garden Center in Spirit Lake, Iowa, as a summer job. In 2009, she started full-time at Ferguson's and became Nursery Manager in November of 2010.


Indiana

Blake Lange

Porter, Indiana
blakelange@gmail.com


Maryland

David Evans

Taneytown, Maryland
dce262@gmail.com

________

Amanda Helin

Hyattsville, Maryland
Ahelin@yahoo.com


Massachusetts

Robert Dowell

Roslindale, Massachusetts
robertd9@vt.edu

________

Timothy Harrison

Abington, Massachusetts
zenchi462@gmail.com

 ________

Rebecca Rondeau

North Chelmsford, Massachusetts
RERondeau@gmail.com


Michigan

Mike Belco, CH
1400 East Kearsley Street
Flint, MI 48503
mbelco@ruthmott.org
www.applewood.org

Mike is the Integrated Pest Management Specialist at Applewood, the 34 acre C.S. Mott estate in Flint, MI. He performs a wide variety of horticultural duties, including caring for the bowling green, the broadleaf evergreen collection, the foliage shade garden, the hydrangea collection, the apple orchard, and the diversity garden that attracts beneficial insects to the orchard. Environmental stewardship is a top priority for Applewood, and Mike leads the estate’s efforts to promote plant health while respecting nature and the environment. He also presents educational information to visitors and community gardening groups on environmentally friendly gardening practices, landscape plant maintenance and landscape design.

He says, “I’m proud to be a new member of the ASHS Certified Horticulturist group, and look forward to learning more about the organization and how it can help me to share horticultural knowledge with my associates and our visitors.”

www.youtube.com/user/ApplewoodRMF

https://www.facebook.com/ApplewoodEstate

www.ruthmottfoundation.org/applewood/

www.flickr.com/photos/applewoodrmf/sets
________

Andrew D. Ewing, CH

1400 E. Kearsley St., Flint, MI 48503
810-396-3100
aewing@ruthmott.org

 Andrew Ewing earned a BS in horticulture from Michigan State University and works as a horticulturist at the Applewood Estate in Flint, MI. Applewood is the 36 acre historic estate of Charles Stewart Mott, a pioneer of the automobile industry.

www.youtube.com/user/ApplewoodRMF

https://www.facebook.com/ApplewoodEstate

www.ruthmottfoundation.org/applewood/

www.flickr.com/photos/applewoodrmf/sets


Minnesota

Abigail Debner

Winsted, Minnesota
abigail.debner@my.ndsu.edu

 


Missouri

Kristina Haines, CH
St. Louis, MO
KHaines@danforthcenter.org

________

Mary Lyon, CH
St. Louis, MO
MLyon@danforthcenter.org


Nevada

Andrea Meckley, CH
PO Box 984
Logandale, NV 89021
702-300-4148
Imn2plants@aol.com


New Jersey

Daniel Cohen, CH 
Elberon, NJ
DLC3131@aol.com
________

Kristopher Brandyberry, CH 
Elberon, NJ
kbrandyberry@gmail.com
________

Sandra Carr, CH 
NJ
sndrcr3@aol.com
________

Craig Dupee, CH 
Trenton, NJ
hort1014u@aol.com

________

Molly Gearty, CH 
Lincroft, NJ
backtothegarden13@gmail.com
________

Victoria Kayes, CH 
Woodbridge Twp, NJ
victtkay@gmail.com

________

Matt O’Neal, CH 
Neshanic Station, NJ
mattoneal1998@gmail.com

________

James Robinson, CH 
NJ
jarobinson@bop.gov


New York

Pilar Altares
Brooklyn, New York
pilar.altares@gmail.com
________

Kim Eierman
2 Deshon Avenue
Bronxville, New York 10708
914-779-9648
kim@ecobeneficial.com
www.ecobeneficial.com
http://www.facebook.com/EcoBeneficial

Kim is an environmental horticulturist specializing in eco-beneficial landscapes and native plants. In addition to consulting with clients on best practices for ecological design and plant selection, she speaks, writes and teaches on these topics. Kim is an instructor at New York Botanical Garden and Brooklyn Botanic Garden. She is an Adjunct Professor at Westchester Community College’s “Go Native U”, administered by the Native Plant Center, and is an active speaker for garden clubs, nature centers, Audubon chapters, and beekeepers.

________

Elli Mazeres
Peekskill, New York
vegan_chic@hotmail.com
________

James Newman
Floral Park, N.Y.        

HortJim@optimum.net

Following a virtually lifelong interest in gardening and many years working in an unrelated field, Jim Newman graduated from Farmingdale State College with an A.A.S. Degree in Ornamental Horticulture.  He currently works for the Fanny Dwight Clark Memorial Garden, Inc., a non-profit organization founded to support, enhance and preserve Clark Botanic Garden in Albertson, N.Y.  Jim enjoys managing the greenhouse at Clark Garden as well as performing many other and varied tasks needed to support a public garden.  He also enjoys interacting with garden volunteers and visitors to the garden seeking information about the diverse garden plantings.
________

Rae Schraver
Buskirk, New York
rschraver@gmail.com

________

Audra Star
Waterville, New York
audramzentner@gmail.com

_________

Kathryn Straight
Lyons, New York
kem14@cornell.edu

_______

Peter Strom
7 Fowler Avenue
Ossining, NY 10562
973-580-2248
peterstrom@verizon.net
www.stromhort.com

Peter is the owner of Strom Horticultural Services, a residential fine gardening company. He is an ISA Certified Arborist. He enjoys pruning woody plants as well as design and care of gardens with spring blooming bulbs, perennials and choice annuals. When not in the garden he enjoys hiking in the Hudson Highlands or touring gardens in the U.S. and abroad.

________

Jeb Stuart-Bullock
Joy of Gardening, Proprietress
Garden Design and Maintenance
Millwood, NY
914-941-13290

________

Ryan Torres
Great Neck, NY
santellir@gmail.com

Ryan Santelli Torres graduated with an A A S from Farmingdale State University in Ornamental Horticulture. She is a Certified Arborist, Pesticide Applicator and Nursery and Landscape Professional. Ryan currently is the horticulturist for the Town of North Hempstead where she is also the director of Clark Botanic Garden in Albertson NY. Ryan also is an educator at the Bronx Botanic Garden in various topics of insect, disease and weed ID and management. Ryan enjoys educating people in landscape design, maintenance and horticulture topics.


North Carolina

Joseph Moore, CH
Monroe, NC
aaronmoore222@gmail.com

 “Becoming a Certified Horticulturist with ASHS is important to me because it validates my skills in the horticulture trade and also shows commitment to my employer." 

__________

Douglass Lanning, CH
Glenville, NC
douglaselanning@gmail.com


Ohio

David Ardrey
OH
dhardrey@dawesarb.org

__________

Michael Hiatt
OH
mjh@earthformoperations.com

__________

Brian Kampman
OH
Bkampman51@gmail.com

__________

Myra Messick
OH
hannagraphics2@yahoo.com

__________

Robert Norris
OH
Robert.Norris@eafarms.com

__________

Richard R. Varga
OH
vargalandscaping@hotmail.com 


Oregon

Glin Varco
OR
glinvarco@yahoo.com

 


Pennsylvania

Sean Breckin

Elkins Park , PA

sbreck@udel.edu
________

Alexandra Dadio

PA

alexandradadio@gmail.com
________

 

Connor Diggins

PA

connorjdiggins@gmail.com
________

 

Robert Joseph Dreisbach, Jr.
4958 Madison Dr.
Brookhaven PA 19015
610-427-9887
rob.dreisbach@live.com

Robert has a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Art, with a concentration in Graphic Design from Salisbury University 1998.  Currently he is a Foreman and Nursery manager for a landscaping installation company in the Philadelphia metropolitan area.

________

William Gambone

PA

billygambone@aol.com

________

Christian Horst

PA

dahortz@yahoo.com

________

 

Abby Jaroslow

Elkins Park , PA

abbyjrob@comcast.net
________

 

Kimberly Labno

PA

kalabno@gmail.com
________

 

Monica Pape

PA

theaccidentalagronomist@gmail.com
________

 

Ryan Sweeney

PA

ryan.sweeney555@gmail.com

 

________

 

T.J. Willoughby

PA

two12@bucknell.edu

 

 


South Carolina

Theodore Davis

SC
theo@red-elm.com

 


Tennessee

Chloe Barrett

 

Erin Bell

TN

landscaping@soleilgardencenter.com

________

 

Peter Duguay

PA

peter.duguay@yahoo.com

 


Texas

Guiseppe Baldi, CH
TX
g.baldi@penguinlawnandlandscape.com

 

­­­­­________

Jeremiah Davis, CH
(214) 924-0948
 jeremiahdavis@gmail.com

Jeremiah runs his own tree assessment consultancy – Yggdrasil Consulting – after gaining amenity horticulture experience with the Dallas Arboretum and production arborist experience with the Davey Tree Expert Company. Prior to working outdoors, he was a professional computer programmer for a decade. The transition was a profession / hobby swap after earning an Associate of Applied Science degree in Horticulture from Tarrant County College. In addition to being a CH, he is an International Society of Arboriculture (ISA) Certified Arborist [TX-4114A] and is Tree Risk Assessment Qualified.

________

Andrew Humphreys, CH
TX
ahumphreys1@leomail.tamuc.edu

­­­­­________

Kyle Jordan, CH
Houston, Texas
979-595-6778
kj.horticulture@yahoo.com

A graduate of Texas A&M University, Kyle has interests in many different areas of horticulture. Prior to his current position in the landscape department of a home owners/property owners association, he has worked in public gardens, tropical butterfly habitat, a specialty retail nursery and a teaching and research greenhouse. He looks forward to using the Certified Horticulturist program to find ways to reduce the environmental impact of the green industry while employing economically sustainable methods, and re-connecting people with plants in particular and the natural world in general.

________

Whitney Milberger-Laird, CH
TX
wmlaird@masuenconsulting.com


 

Utah

Heidi Kratsch, PhD, CH
1040 N. 130W, Apt. 103
Logan, UT 84341
W 435-797-8124; F 435-797-3376

"This [ASHS Certified Horticulturist designation] reaffirms my commitment to professionalism in horticulture. I hope to inspire my clients and students to become active in professional organizations and to become lifelong learners."


 

Virginia

Stephen Feagans, CH
Arlington, VA
sfeagans2004@yahoo.com

________

Mark Griffith, CH
VA
markg@basnightlandandlawn.com

________

Michael (Mark) Hollingsworth, CH
VA
markhollingsworth72@gmail.com

________

Patrick Mulrooney, CH
VA
pmulrooney@alumni.su.edu

________

Laura Shaub, CH
VA
laurashaub25@gmail.com

________

Kimberly Thoures, CH
VA
kimthoures@gmail.com


Washington

Meaghan Rich

Seattle, Washington
meaghanjrich@gmail.com

 


West Virginia

Susan Hall

WV
susan@hiddeninagardendesigns.com


Wyoming

Phillip Craig Alderidge
Laramie, WY

caldridg@uwyo.edu

________

Michael R. Baldwin
1416 E. Custer St., A
Laramie, Wy, 82070
(509) 885-0027
Grow.Wyo@gmail.com
________

Wendy Clements
Laramie, WY

wendyc@gillettewy.gov

________

Keith Kershaw
WY

keithk@landonsgreenhouse.com

________

Andy B. Smith, CH
5520 Pilot Peak Road
Laramie, WY 82070
307-760-9018
flowers@uwyo.edu


 

International


Hong Kong

Poon Fung, CH
poon.fung@gvwhy.com

 


Qatar

Raju Manchakkal Thupran, CH
Dorsch Qatar
mtraju@gmail.com

Trained in professional golf turf management at Rutgers, and Urban environmental management from WWF. Raju has a Bachelor's degree in agriculture, and a Masters in journalism and mass communication. He has 20 years of diversified work experience in agricultural extension, farming, facilities, desert landscaping, and ornamental horticulture. Author of "The Green Earth", a text book for vocational higher secondary agriculture education. Currently, Raju is Horticulture Specialist at King Abdullah University of Science and Technology in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.


 

 

 


 

 

1018 Duke Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone: 703.836.4606
Email: webmaster@ashs.org